Molly Kleiber, a teacher at Liberty High School in the Wentzville School District, is one of five driver education teachers from throughout the U.S. to be selected by their peers as Teachers of Excellence. The honor, which carries with it a cash stipend, comes from the American Driver & Traffic Safety Education Association (ADTSEA) and The National Road Safety Foundation, a non-profit group that creates driver safety education materials and makes them available at no cost to teachers and schools, police, traffic safety advocates and youth organizations. 

Kleiber has just completed her fifth year teaching driver education at Liberty High School in Wentzville, Missouri, where she has been a strong advocate for the use of technology in the classroom.  She energizes her students and the community to promote safe driving, and in 2016 led her school to win a $10,000 grant in a Safe Driving Pledge contest from a local car dealership. Dr. Matt Kiesel, assistant principal at Liberty High SchoolH.S, says “her excellence does not stop with the students; Molly serves as a role model for her peers in the diver education realm as well.” She currently is president of the Missouri Driver Safety Education Association.

“Driving instructors are dedicated and passionate teachers who often serve as role models in ways that often go far beyond driver education,” said David Reich of The National Road Safety Foundation and a member of the ADTSEA Board of Directors. “The five teachers being honored with the Teacher Excellence Award have demonstrated impressive creativity and enthusiasm in the important work they do to make driving safely a lifelong experience.”

“Molly represents our best, who inspire others to be passionate and effective teachers of this important life skill,” said Rich Hanson, who heads the selection committee for ADTSEA. “We are proud to honor her and her colleagues as the 2020 Teachers of Excellence.”

The Teacher Excellence Awards, given by The National Road Safety Foundation, are named in memory of Dr. Francis Kenel, a traffic safety engineer, former director of the AAA, author of driver ed teacher training materials and a mentor to countless driver education instructors. Official presentations will be made when ADTSEA holds its annual conference later this month, which will be convened virtually online due to the pandemic.  Kleiber and the other recipients will do online presentations highlighting techniques that earned them the Teacher of Excellence recognition. 

The American Driver and Traffic Safety Education is the professional association that represents traffic safety educators throughout the United States. As a national advocate for quality traffic safety education, the group creates and publishes policies and guidelines for driver ed and conducts conferences and workshops for teachers. For more information about the ADTSEA, visit their website: http://www.nrsf.org/. The National Road Safety Foundation (NRSF), a non-profit organization, has supported ADTSEA’s Teacher Excellence Awards program for 10 years.